Free Consultations! Call Us Toll-Free 24/7 309.874.4147
Stay Informed of the Legal Climate. Follow Our Blog for Relevant Developments in the Legal Community.

The Penalties for Faking an Illinois Driver's License

When an individual loses his or her driver's license because of a traffic or DUI offense, the law states that that individual must not drive for the duration of the license suspension. In some cases, individuals will try to create a fake license so that they can still drive after their license has been taken away. This is expressly illegal, and can result in prison time.

According to the Illinois State Police, obtaining a driver's license through a false affidavit is punishable by one to three years in prison and a maximum $25,000 fine. Also, if you allow a person to use your identification documents so that they can apply for a driver's license or ID card is punishable by the same sentence.

It is also illegal to drive without a license or when your license has been suspended. Most DUI offenses will result in driver's license suspension for six months or more depending on the details of the case. It is important to know that when your driver's license is suspended in Illinois the suspension applies in every state.

This means that you cannot drive in another state when your license has been revoked. If you are caught driving with a restricted or suspended license, then you will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor and a possible fine of up to $2,500. You may also be forced to spend up to 364 days in jail. In some circumstances, the crime can be considered a felony resulting in a fine of $25,000 and seven years in prison.

If you want more information about driver's license offenses in Illinois then contact an Illinois driver's license lawyer at Johnson Law Group today. The firm will provide you with defense in your driver's license case and work to help you avoid serious penalties!

Categories: